EU bans all Benin carriers

ALL airlines based in Benin, six from Kazakhstan, one Thai and one Ukrainian have been banned form flying in EU airspace.

Following an audit by the International Civil Aviation Organization all Benin airlines received “negative results”. Those other newly banned airlines are Kazakhstan’s Air Company Kokshetau, ATMA Airlines, Berkut Air, East Wing, Sayat Air and Starline KZ, Thailand’s One-Two-Go Airlines (above right) and Ukraine’s Motor Sich Airlines.

Since the list was drawn up in 2006 a total of 90 airlines have been banned from operating within the EU. Most of those are based in Africa. Those countries that have suffered a total ban include: Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Indonesia, the Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Swaziland.

“Air passengers are entitled to feel safe and be safe,” EU Transport Commissioner Antonio Tajani said in a statement today in Brussels. All carriers must “conform to internationally required levels of air safety.”

Share this story