EU updates airline blacklist

THE European Commission’s (EC) latest update to its airlines’ safety blacklist has added all airlines from the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe, Djibouti and the Republic of Congo, such as Hewa Bora (right). Being added to the list bans the airlines from flying to the European Union due to poor safety records.Conversely, the EC has lifted the ban on three Ukrainian airlines: Motor Sich, Ukraine Cargo Airways and Volare.“We cannot afford any compromises in air safety,” said the EC’s vice-president Antonio Tajani. “Our aim is not just to create a list of airlines that are dangerous. We are ready to help those countries to build up their technical and administrative capacity to guarantee the safety of civil aviation in their countries.“We cannot, however, accept that airlines fly while not complying with international safety standards.”

Share this story