First-timers going for gold at BIFA Awards

MORE first-time entrants have entered the British International Freight Association (BIFA) Freight Service Awards this year than ever before. Of these, seven have made it to the shortlist of 30 finalists.Peter Quantrill, director general of BIFA (right), said: “In these difficult times, we were a little worried that companies might decide they could not afford the time to enter the competition. Therefore, it is both pleasing and encouraging that so many members of the UK forwarding fraternity took the trouble to enter.“I applaud all those companies that have taken the time and effort to put themselves forward for an award and congratulate all those that have made the finalists shortlist. I encourage those that have not succeeded in becoming finalists to try again next year.”The seven first-time entrant finalists are: Activair, Bellville Rodair International, Eagle Cargo Services, NNR Global Logistics, TR Logistics, Gist and Pantos Logistics.The companies that have reached the final shortlist in the eight main award categories are:Air Freight Award, sponsored by British Airways World Cargo:
Activair and Chaucer FreightEuropean Logistics Award, sponsored by TT Club:
Dachser, DSV Road, GEFCO and W.E. DeaneOcean Freight Award, sponsored by CargoWise
Eagle Cargo Services, Ideal Forwarding, PFE Express and Woodland International TransportProject Forwarding Award, sponsored by BBC Chartering:
Asco Freight Management, Brendon International, Panalpina World Transport and RIF WorldwideSpecial Services Award, sponsored by Forward Computers:
Belville Rodair International, NNR Global Logistics UK, TR Logistics Group and Woodland International TransportStaff Development Award, sponsored by Albacore Systems:
Gist Ltd, GKN Freight Services, Schenker and World Transport AgencySupply Chain Management Award, sponsored by BoxTop Technologies:
Allport, NYK Group Europe, Pantos Logistics and Seawing Landguard InternationalYoung Freight Forwarder Award, sponsored by Johnson Stevens Agencies:
Sharon Brough – Seko Synergy Scotland, James Crosby – Damco UK, Samantha Mitchell – World Transport Agency and Michael Walton – SchenkerThe award winners will be announced at the BIFA Annual Lunch and Awards Ceremony to be held at The Brewery, Chiswell Street, London EC1 on Thursday 21 January 2010

Share this story